top of page

Carnegie Science Award Winners Announced

Established in 1997, Carnegie Science Awards have honored the accomplishments of more than 600 scientists, technologists, educators, business leaders, and organizations who are making a difference in Pittsburgh and beyond. Winners are chosen by a committee of peers—both past awardees and industry leaders—who selected the most deserving innovators whose contributions have led to significant economic or societal benefit in western Pennsylvania.

Congratulations to the 2021 Carnegie Science Award recipients!

Chairman’s Award

Paul Duprex, PhD, and the University of Pittsburgh Center for Vaccine Research

Presented by Eaton

Most Inspiring Educator

Anna Blake, Elizabeth Forward School and Melissa Unger, South Fayette School District

Presented by Highmark Blue Cross Blue Shield

Best Interdisciplinary Approach to STEM Education

Jessica Hammer, PhD, Carnegie Mellon University

Presented by FedEx

Exemplary Educational/Corporate Collaboration

Kennametal & Binky Sargent

Presented by Duquesne Light Co.

Champion for Sustainability

Richard V. Piacentini and Phipps Conservatory and Botanical Gardens

Presented by Eaton

Champion for STEM Equity

D2MD – Design to Make a Difference

Presented by PPG


Samarjit Das, PhD, Bosch Research + Technology Center

Presented by Braskem USA

Corporate Leadership


Presented by Kennametal Inc.

Junior Division Student

Nolan Althof, Queen of Angels School

Presented by ALCOSAN

Intermediate Division Student

Mason Roberts, The Campus School at Carlow University

Presented by NOVA Chemicals

Senior Division Student

Walter Vinoski, Yough Senior High School

Presented by Carnegie Mellon University

Honorable Mentions:

Champion for STEM Equity – Matt’s Maker Space and New Castle Area School District

Innovation – McGowan Institute

Champion for Sustainability – Mary Ellen Ramage, CONNECT

Corporate Leadership – David Holmberg, Highmark/Allegheny Health Network

50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page